Forum OpenACS Development: Re: Help on understanding acs-rels

Collapse
Posted by Eduardo Santos on
Thank you very much for your help Tom. I'm studying your script and I have a few questions:

1 - When you create the coach_rel type, the reference table is the coaches_ext, in the column coach_id. Is this the table you crated? The UNICYCLIST_EXT when you create a subtype of user, did you create it too?

2 - When you reference an object, does it have to be a group?

I'm sorry for the questions, but it seems a little bit complex to me.

Collapse
Posted by Tom Jackson on
The extension type for the unicyclist type is unicyclist_ext, but the table is not created. This is a default situation, you can still create the table later through the group UI. But I don't think you could do the setup here via the UI (at least at the time I wrote the code).

Also, the new groups which get created don't have any extension tables by default, but they can be added.

Focus on the use of acs_rels: this make it easy to do queries to find both sides of a relationship, then you have a reduced set to do permissions checking on, but driving very targeted queries is a big benefit of acs_rels.

I've been working on a generalized object relationship model, very similar to RDF which is easier to understand, but the acs_rels concept is general, integrated with OpenACS, but difficult to setup.

More specific to this example:

1. users and groups are created normally.
2. additional membership relationships are used to relate these users and groups
3. membership is granted to main site
4. admin permission is granted to new user over new group.

Note: the new group is to allow for a central point for relationships between users (cyclists, coaches, parents, clubs).