Forum OpenACS Q&A: Are there any OpenACS User Goups? How about the Bay Area?

Since user and group give so many hits on the search, I just thought
I'd ask.
Are there any organized User Groups? If so, any in the SF Bay Area?
If so, where can I get monthly meeting information etc?
If not, why not? :)
Thanks,
Hawke,

There was an OpenACS social in early September, with a pretty good showing. I bet if someone organized or offered to host another one, a good showing of OACS people would all of a sudden materialize...

talli

Well, if there's no organized OACSUG (say that fast 5 times, or more specifically East Bay - EBOACSUG - currently, someone should do something about it.

I'd offer, but I'm a newbie. But I'm tempted to anyway.
Great way to meet everyone.
Would anyone care if it was something informal like a Park or some such?

Thanks,

A park would be fine, don't get me wrong, but at the last one held at a park, I felt it was difficult to locate the group (I never did), and other folks got eaten by mosquitos.
I know what you're thinking, "eaten by mosquitos surely that's an exaggeration", but it's not, we lost some good developers that evening....
We're planning to have a meeting of the Utah OpenACS UG at our 2nd Annual Free Software & Linux Forum (http//fslc.usu.edu/forum2001/), happenning on Nov 15th. Bruce Perens will be our keynote speaker and we are very excited abouth this event.

Hopefully we'll get OACS'ers from other states to show up. That'll be fun.

To bad (not) :)  I moved out of Utah a year ago.

Ok, makes sense that the park might not be ideal, especially with it getting dark early now.

My first thought was meet at a Denny's or some other inexpensive high capacity restaurant, and then some other place more appropriate (sort of like PMI does).

I haven't been to the libraries here (or anywhere in years really (thank you Internet)), but it used to be possible to "rent" "quiet rooms" for free, it was just a matter of scheduling.