Forum OpenACS Q&A: Is OpenACS-4 the Answer for my Project?

Hello,

While I am not a real programmer, I'm more of a SysAdmin for a Gov't
agency. I have been tasked with building a framework with hardware
and software for deploying web-servers in an intranet environment.
These servers will be located in 19 different offices throughout the
southeastern United States. Obviously open-source gpl'd code is
indicated as we'll be using exsiting spare hardware and the budget
is $0.00 .

I've been using some of the components in the OpenACS 3.5 for just
over a year in a production environment, so I am familier with the
current stable OpenACS package. As I have been visiting many OpenACS
and ACS sites the past few days, I am impressed with the
implementations of others.

My skills are above average for SysAdmins in our region/agency; how
easy would it be to train the average SysAdmin, with a preinstalled
OpenACS 4 system, in the care and feeding of OpenACS, have them
actually train end-users within the office to add content and
realize a benefit from the system.

What are some of the downsides of using OpenACS 4 over say one of
the PHP4 CMS implemetations? I already know about the benefits of
OpenACS over the PHP alternatives. What training challenges are most
likely to surface when training users to fully use the OpenACS
system? Are there any training resources for end-users, admins,
etc... that may be available for walking a user/admin through
OpenACS and getting the most from the system?

I know I am asking alot, but any help WILL be greatly appreciated...

Thanks,

Collapse
Posted by defunct defunct on
I can't offer you too much information on training resources, however, anecdotally I can say: