Forum OpenACS Development: Notifications tutorial

Collapse
Posted by David Bell on
I recently tried to use the notifications package. I found it under documented and kind of confusing. So once I worked it out I wrote the following document. I am still new to OpenACS so id like to get peoples opinion on this. Please correct me if I am doing anything wrong/bad in this tutorial.

OPEN-ACS Tutorial using Notifications package

The notifications package is a very useful but under-documented package. It allows you to send notifications through any defined communications medium (e.g. Email, sms) upon some event occuring within the system.

This tutorial steps through the process of integrating the notifications package with your package.
For this tutorial we will use the example of a jobs package, in which jobs for users are added, updated and removed (by a manager??) and those users need to be NOTIFIED of the existence of a new job or the update or removal of an existing job.
This example assumes that we already have our job system set up (objects defined etc.) and only need to add the notification part.

Create notification types

The first step is to create the notification types. To do this a script similar to the one below needs to be loaded into Postgresql. I create this script in a package/sql/postgresql/package-notifications-init.sql file. I then load this file from my create sql file. The script below creates a job_added notification type. A similar script needs to be written for job_updated and job_deleted if required.

create function inline_0() returns integer as '
declare
        impl_id integer;
        v_foo  integer;
begin
        -- the notification type impl
        impl_id := acs_sc_impl__new (
                      ''NotificationType'',
                      ''job_added_notif_type'',
                      ''jobs''
        );

v_foo := acs_sc_impl_alias__new (
                    ''NotificationType'',
                    ''GetURL'',