Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: AOLserver 4.0 Install instructions

Collapse
Posted by Tom Jackson on
Gustaf,

This is not academic at all. I see the registration of the callback in driver.c. But in the source code, I don't ever see the callback called. Somewhere NsRunAtReadyProcs must be called, or the TriggerDriver signal will never execute. I can't find this, either because it isn't there, or because my checkout is wrong or I can't use grep. I'm okay with any of these, but simply registering a callback and never using it seems unlikely to solve a real problem.

Also, I have no problems with the patch, unless it isn't actually being used by anyone. There are huge differences between 4.0x and 4.5 wrt this subject so I don't assume that the solution would be so easily moved to 4.5.

The code is relatively undocumented. I'm an expert in undocumented code. A few months or years later I wonder why things are like they are. Why did I do that? So if the code is doing something, I'd like to make a note so it isn't removed. Tricky stuff is worth noting.

Collapse
Posted by Gustaf Neumann on
Where i come from, the word "academic" has a positive connotation. now i understand at least, where you are after. You are right, when peaking around in the code, it is surprising that the registering a callback that seems nowhere to be called, helped ... but it did. NsRunAtReadyProcs() is defined extern, so a module might call it, but i don't see this either. My suspicion is that - since the problem looked like a race condition to me - registering the callback has the side-effect of serializing some threads. The mutex in the callback registration might have this effect.

If you have time to investigate further, i would suggest to take out the patch and try to reproduce the bug in a clean-house environment. It seems related to threads with a larger footprint (nobody saw it except openacs applications).

Collapse
Posted by Tom Jackson on