Forum .LRN Q&A: Re: AUBG Plans a .LRN Pilot and Seeks Advice for the Startup Phase

Hi Grigor!

Glad to see you've gotten this far!

In my experience, if everything goes right, .LRN can be set up in a couple of days.  In my experience, not everything goes right. I remember Doc Edgertan saying about his experimental strobes and cameras: "You always make three of everything: you lose the first one and you need the second one for parts to keep the third one going."  The essential thing is: finding a Linux Wizard, someone who knows Linux real well, and therefore, can figure out how to set up the Linux box and security, and when OpenACS/.LRN troubles begin, can figure out what is going on.  If someone knows Linux and Perl, they can figure out Tcl.  My Wizard, Manfred, can solve anything.  Having such people nearby only encourages fools like myself to dig themselves in deeper.  I've got only a couple of years of self-taught computing experience and only one formal computing (Oracle) course: I've taken this project on more or less as Sport. The best programmers I know are also sportsmen: there's something about the technology, especially Linux programmers, that is amenable to minds happy at play.  Manfred is an archer.  Don and I are photographers.  Staff your project with someone who likes to fiddle.  Setting up the system: a good week for a Wizard and Fiddler; a day per week thereafter to keep the box in shape.  Best to incorporate it in a larger, on-going, professional Linux operation -- I think security issues alone require a full-time employee, as we have here, advising the rest of us.