Forum OpenACS Q&A: Trouble getting SSL to work on port 8443

I have a site with a self-signed certificate.  It works fine as long as the secure port is set to the standard 443.  But if I try to use port 8443, with everything else exactly the same, it does not work.  Safari can't connect, and neither can telnet:

GET /dotlrn HTTP/1.1
Connection closed by foreign host.

I've never seen nsopenssl be so picky about the port number before.  We know the certificate is good since it works on port 443.  So what else could be wrong?

This is using the AOLserver 3.3 that the installation instructions have you download from uptime.openacs.org.

Collapse
Posted by Janine Ohmer on
Ok, since apparently no-on else has any ideas either, let me rephrase the question.  Has anyone been able to get nsopenssl to work on port 8443 with a self-signed certificate?  I've never tried it before, so I might be trying to make something work that never has.
Collapse
Posted by Bart Teeuwisse on
Janine,

the certificate doesn't care about ports one way or another. I've used (self-signed) certificate with a number of different ports.

/Bart

Collapse
Posted by Janine Ohmer on
I was thinking it might be nsopenssl, rather than the certificate itself, that was giving me trouble.  All I know is that it was not working on port 8443, and when we changed it to port 443 in the config file, it worked, with no other changes.  So what sort of misconfiguration (still assuming this is something I did wrong) could that indicate???
Collapse
Posted by Bart Teeuwisse on
Which version of nsopenssl are you using? Version 2.x w/ AOLserver 3.x? Or the newer 3.x w/ AOLserver 4.x? The configuration of these versions are rather different.

/Bart

Collapse
Posted by Bruno Mattarollo on
Janine,