Forum OpenACS Q&A: OpenACS 3.x or 4.x by year end?

Collapse
Posted by David Burch on
I need to create a production website by year end and I would like
your opinions on whether I should use OpenACS 3.x or 4.x and why. You
have my thanks in advance and I'll try to give back through testing
documentation or new module porting/creation.

The website will be a New Mexico state travel website that is a
revamp of an existing site that currently receives 50,000 hits per
month. It is a state of neglect so I hope to double that.

I will be using PostgreSql on a co-hosted Linux box because I like
Open Source and I am poor.  I will be the only developer resource
(also because I am cash poor).

I have experience compiling AOLServer and creating C modules for it
but I have no experience with ACS or OpenACS. The core of the system
will be magazine type articles with photographs and I will need a way
to rotate the articles from the top page to a section home page to an
archive.  The pages will be static but I will be creating a database
to hold the content (if 4.x I would like to build upon CR).

Sites like I envision this one: gorp.com and away.com (but only state-
wide coverage), photo.net's travel section, bird.net.

If I use 3.x I will be using: adserver, banner ideas, calendar,
classifieds, clickthrough, bboard, contest, FAQ, Neighbor-to-
Neighbor, Survey, Ticket (feedback feature only), general comments
and general links. I will probably cook up a site-wide search using
PLS. Not all the functionality needs to be done by year end, but I
must make the 3.x vs. 4.x choice and have the article system and
adserver production ready.

4.x features I would like to add are site-wide search, photo album
and postcard.  I am having a hard time matching up 3.x functionality
such as adserver with 4.x.

I am presently partial to 3.x because it appears to have 80% of what
I need, is time tested, has better documentation (at present), and