Forum OpenACS Q&A: New OpenACS Tutorial

Collapse
Posted by César Clavería on
Hello all,

Rocael Hernandez and I have been working on a new tutorial for OpenACS, it is aimed at absolute beginners, it covers some simple installation process, the creation of an application and some introduction to the use of ACS Objects, it leaves out some parts of working with OpenACS, but this is really aimed at just the first few days of a new developer.

We have been working on this for quite some time and are very proud to present the first version we feel is ready for public viewing:

Here is the link:

https://openacs.org/storage/view/tutorial%5C/OpenACS_Tutorial.pdf

Collapse
Posted by Cesareo Garci­a Rodicio on
Hello!

Thanks so much! It is a great work.

I think that the level is not "absolute-beginners", I mean, it's not so easy to learn this in four days (in my experience). As I could review the tutorial is about:

Day 1. Connect to an openacs installation and do an "openacs helloworld" page
Day 2. Create a new package (presentation, programming and data)
Day 3. Web Forms a Reports with OpenACS (this is very useful)
Day 4. ACS Objects and Content Repository

So, the most important staff in OpenACS

Really Usefull!! do we have an on-line version?

Cesáreo

Collapse
Hi Cesareo,

thanks for the feedback and the breakdown of the contents.

And yes the content is probably intended for someone with the time to read it and some kind of technical background, in the end it covers the creation of a pretty basic application but trying to use as most of the OpenACS functionalities as possible without making it too complex.

About the online version, I'm working on it and will let you know when it is ready.

Collapse
4: Re: New OpenACS Tutorial (response to 1)
Posted by Emmanuelle Raffenne on
Hi César,

Great tutorial! Thanks for sharing it.

Do you plan to update the OpenACS documentation (acs-core-docs) with the content of this tutorial?

Thanks again.

Collapse