Forum OpenACS Q&A: How to test Jerry's nsvhr/nsunix virtual hosting on development box?

After working through Jerry's great How-to (http://www.theashergroup.com/tag/articles/nsvhr/virtual-hosting-howto.adp) and reading through the archives, I'm still having difficulty where others seem to have none. ("Dammit Jim, I'm an applications developer not a sysadmin." Or else I'm just a couple bottles short of a six-pack.)

I'm trying to test a server setup of two sites (firstserver.org and secondserver.org) on a development box in an internal network with unrouteable ip addresses. Neither of these domain names is real, but I resolve them with appropriate entries in /etc/hosts with /etc/host.conf and /etc/nsswitch.conf set to resolve locally with files before dns. (I'm using DNS from the ISP, not running it locally--in case that matters.)

I've installed and patched AOLServer 3.3ad13 and I've amended the stock nsd.tcl file for each server only by editing the various items pointed out in Jerry's document. AOLServer serves pages from either site when I start either one alone via nssock. I thus know that AOLServer works and the name resolution works. When I set up the third master server (running nsvhr) and start the two "slave" processes (using the nsunix module instead of the nssock module), it *appears* that the three processes seem to work (though they don't):

• I see the appropriate firstserver.nsunix and secondserver.nsunix socket files in /usr/local/aolserver/modules/nsunix.
  • In standard out during the master server startup, I see notices that nsvhr is redirecting each of the mapped domains to the appropriate nsunix socket file.
  • However, earlier in the startup process for each slave server, I see in standard out: "Warning: nsunix: missing Location and Port parameters". (However, I do have the default port 8000 set in each case.)