Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: Autmoated test results (five failures)

Collapse
Posted by Jim Lynch on
a sixth failure happens when I check the "might break security" and "stress test" checkboxes and rerun the tests:

It's acs-authentication/sync_snapshot, I'll look around even tho I have no knowledge of this sync thing. Anyone?

Collapse
Posted by Jim Lynch on
Update: all test failures are fixed except the sync_snapsnot one in acs-authentication.
Collapse
Posted by Antonio Pisano on
Dear Jim,

the fact that you're fixing this problems is more than ok, I also agree with you that moving to a modern version control system is inevitable.

This said, I suggest everyone to don't let this little changes here and there go unnoticed. Now it's a unit test, tomorrow, fork is in the air.

As a niche, yet compact community, I think this is something we should not go for, so maybe you, Gustaf and Victor could get in contact and decide for a merging strategy. Maybe this could lead to the long praised migration to git.

This is just my opinion, feel free to express yours.

Antonio

Collapse
Posted by Jim Lynch on
OK...

Here is my workflow, it should also show how and when I merge.

First, I make a fork on github, of openacs/openacs-core, since right now I'm interested in a clean, no-fail automated test result.

Next, I make a clone of the fork, and that gets me all of the core of openacs and (importantly) a remote called origin, which I can write to. At this point I cannot write to openacs/openacs-core, and this is an important point because it informs my workflow. Since I cannot write, I note the 20-someodd remote tracking branches (including origin/master) that I got with the clone.

Because I cannot write, I will not ever alter the branches that came with the clone, except to update them from an additional remote, which I will call upstream.