Forum OpenACS Development: Sould we add acs-automated-testing into acs-core?

I just wrote my first unit test with OpenACS (hooray!) that tests a
new acs-lang procedure that we are adding. My first inclination was to
use the acs-automated-testing package that Open-MSG kindly has
provided us with but since that package is not part of acs-core I
cannot use it to test core procedures. Shouldn't we add this package
to acs-core (aka the OpenACS kernel)?

I would like to see procedure level tests being used more
broadly in the kernel. As a Java programmer I used JUnit a lot and the
same idea is quite applicable to the OpenACS TCL API. Some of
the procs do non-trivial things and if you edit them you want (at
least I do) to run a regression test to make sure you didn't at least
break the main functionality of the proc.

Peter,

I couldn't agree more! The whole idea was to encourage people to provide TCL based regression tests for just the circumstance you describe, and also figuring that developers might get more out of testing (and be more inclined to do it) if it was essentially a development exercise.

Not sure why you can't use acs-automated-testing to test acs-core functions? But perhaps Peter Harper (erstwhile author) can answer that for you?

I think he's saying he can't depend on it being there.  I have no problem adding it.  It doesn't break anything to have it there, right?
Thanks for the support Simon! I think you misunderstood me, I wasn't saying you can't use acs-automated-testing to test acs-core procs. It's just that I can't create a dependency on the acs-automated-testing package from the acs-lang package as long as acs-automated-testing is not part of core (we are moving acs-lang into core).