Forum OpenACS Q&A: Error: return: failed to redirect '404': exceeded recursion limit of 3

Hi

I just installed OpenACS 4.5 according to the step by step instructions posted in OpenACS 4.5 documentation. I was able to run aolserver and see html pages before installing OACS. However, after loading OACS, I get the following message upon attempting to access the same URL I was previously able to view simple HTML on:

Error: return: failed to redirect '404': exceeded recursion limit of 3

I have searched the net and found only a few postings, referring to something about filters causing this. I am new to AOLServer (maybe coming over from Apache if it works!) and OACS. I heard OACS was a great framework and simple to get started on.

What am I missing? I would like to be able to test OACS to determine if it is something we can use for community site development. The documentation on installing thus far, however, has several oversites and bugs in it:(

PLEASE HELP!

thanks.

OACS is not distributing the global/ directory anymore.
Add your 404 and etc. pages there and it will stop that.
Thank you:)
That worked but now I get my new "not found" page instead of the expected (according to the documentation) "OpenACS Installation: Welcome" page. It's also disturbing that if I try to load the page via the url http://localhost/www/index.tcl I see tcl code and if I load the url http://localhost/index.adp, I see the content with lots of @some-variable@ tags in it. Shouldn't source code not be delivered to the browser via some means?!

thanks again:)

Seems like something in the configuration file is not set the way it should. Do you have set the parameter enabletclpages to On? Adp parser set to 'fancy'?

Something comparable to that:

ns_section "ns/server/${servername}"
ns_param  enabletclpages  On

ns_section "ns/server/${servername}/adp"
ns_param  map            "/*.adp"  ;# Extensions to parse as ADP's.
ns_param  DefaultParser  fancy