machine to connect and display the initial logon page. My local
machine will not connect using "localhost:8000", but does connect with
it's own name "saturn:8000". From another machine I am able to ping
the AOLServer machine successfully. The service IS up and running. I
am posting this messsage from the AOLServer laptop, so I am assuming
the network settings are fine. AOLServer is NOT serving the pages to a
remote client. I am at a loss to explain what is happening here, while
I am not new to Linux, I am new to the Redhat 7.1 version, with 5.2
being the last version I have any real experience with...

Thanks for your time...

Gil Price

Perhaps this thead might help you?
Yep, that was it! I hated asking the question as I was sure it had been asked and answered before, but a visual search through the bboard didn't turn up the proper thread.

Thanks Ola,

Gil

Well I'm glad I could be of assistance, and that you didn't have to stumble in the dark for two weeks as I did😉
This really comes down to ensuring that servers have correct IP
addresses, hostnames, /etc/hosts entries, and DNs entries.  Right?

I made this config item default to the host name because that is what
works for the huge majority of cases -- if you have no host name at
all the RH default is localhost.localdomain or some such thing, which
/etc/hosts says is 127.0.0.1, so even that degenerate case was taken
care of.

I'm unclear why a server machine would have a hostname of 'saturn' in
todays Internetworked world -- surely it would be more like
'saturn.somedomain.com' or whatever?

I'd go as far as to suggest that rather than haing your AOLserver
config point to the raw IP address (will you remember that when you
relocate the server in six months time?), it would be more appropriate
to ensure your DNS setup for the server is correct and matches the
hostname of the machine concerned.

As far as I can tell, what you have found is really a workaround for