Forum OpenACS Q&A: Web-Based SMS Notifications Service Using OpenACS

I'm a university student and is doing a thesis on "Web-Based SMS Notifications Service Using OpenACS" but is very new to the OpenACS framework. If you could share some of your views and light with me on what my plan is, it would be very much appreciated.

Thesis Statement:
"The problem pursued in this thesis is to develop an efficient methodology (in the form of a service) to allow OpenACS application developers to easily integrate and embed SMS Notifications into their applications."

My plan is to incorporate SMS capabilities into the Notifications Package. Instead of relying on external gateways to send SMS, I will be using a GSM modem to send and receive SMS. Whether than writing the modem driver myself using TCL - it is much more managable if I use an Open Source SMS Server Tool Driver (http://www.isis.de/~s.frings/smstools/). This tool provides logging, black listing, various provider queues etc. This tool operates independently of OpenACS - all I need to do is to make a few modifications to the config file (e.g. modify their logging script to postgres instead of mySQL as provided). To send a SMS, all I need to do is create a file (in a given SMS format) and put it in a directory - the tool will look after the rest. All these have been tested by me and is working fine.