Forum OpenACS Q&A: Hello! New to AOLServer and OPENACS. Question...

Do people generally use ACS for ideas, do they extract code and pieces to build thier own sites, do they always run the whole shabang...
I'm new to AOLServer, but within the last 24hrs of programming on it, I LOVE it. I've already created my own vehicle service tracker. (www.snyderworld.org/VST). Anyhow, I would like to create a simple paired down version of a digital image library (I don't need a full photo.net implementaion), and I see one in OPENACS. However, installing OPENACS to see what's there is good enough, but I don't want my real photo library to to be running in this type of environment, I want it to be separated from this ACS environment.
I know it may sound stupid, but I'm having troubles pulling what I want out of ACS alone, I know I can do it with enough time, but I was wondering if this is what people usally do, or am I missing somthing completly obvious.

Ken

Collapse
Posted by bill kellerman on
hi kenneth.

there are plenty of docs laying around on the background and purpose of openacs.  basically, it's a set of tools (database connectivity, templating, cacheing, on and on) that you'd use to build your own functionality (like the photo album) without having to start from scratch.

instead of picking code to use in your own system, you'd want to install the openacs core framework and either add packages on top or write your own packages.  you'll find doing this makes things *much* easier as a lot of work will have already been done for you.

why wouldn't you want to run the whole thing?  what kinds of things are you looking to do on aolserver outside of openacs?

Collapse
Posted by Andrew Piskorski on
Kenneth, people who want to use at least some of OpenACS just about always install all of the OpenACS core, plus whatever additional packages they're interested in.