Forum OpenACS Q&A: Custom email - newbie question

Collapse
Posted by Vel Pillai on
Hello Forum, I am new to OpenACS. I am trying to customize the content of the emails it sends when some one forgets their password. Which file do i need to modify to perform the customization. Any help is highly appreciated Thanks, Vel
Collapse
Posted by Luigi Martini on
I am totally unexpert but, as nobody posted the right answer yet, I try and help. Your OpenACS install should be somewhere inside you disk. Also, there should be some command in your system which performs a search for a given expression and tells you the location of such an expression. Such Linux commands have strange names to me, I do not know which one is to be used, but some command of the kind should exist. Also, I guess, you know the text you want to change.
Would it be useful to try a search for some particular string of text within the whole OpenAcs install?
Maybe.
Collapse
Posted by Luigi Martini on
Try
grep -rH some_text_you_don't_like OpenACS_directory
This would be the very first time I use grep in my life, which means: a) I really would like to help, although I do not have much experience; b) hopefully somebody will correct me, should I be wrong 😉
Collapse
Posted by Brad Duell on
Well, using acs-lang in OpenACS, the catalog for messages that goes out is in /packages/acs-subsite/catalog/acs-subsite.en_US.ISO-8859-1.xml and are called by auth::password:: procedures in /packages/acs-authentication/tcl/password-procs.tcl
Collapse
Posted by Vel Pillai on
Luigi and Brad, Thanks for the response. I located the packages/acs-subsite/catalog/acs-subsite.en_US.ISO-8859-1.xml and /packages/acs-authentication/tcl/password-procs.tcl and modified the email content (site name, greeting etc). Then i restarted the aolserver and tested the email content. no effect was noticed. How to go about this further? Thanks in advance Vel
Collapse
Posted by Brad Duell on