Forum OpenACS Q&A: How to add SSL support into the AOLserver configuration

Hi! I am new to OpenACS and AOLserver (and the whole Linux thing) but
I installed OpenACS 3.2.5 successfully on RedHat 7.1 using Jonathan
Marsdens RPMs.
Now I am trying to add SSL support into my AOLserver configuration
but got lost a bit. Can somebody give me a step by step instruction
how to do it? Thanks a lot!

You hare three main options to provide SSL functionality with AOLserver: A.) nsssle.so (40-bit, export-grade SSLv2) module, B.) nsssl.so (128-bit "U.S. domestic" grade SSLv2) module, and C.) nsopenssl.so (128-bit SSLv2/SSLv3/TLSv1) module. The first two are included in the AOLserver source code but require the hideously expensive RSA BSAFE Crypto-C libraries. The latter (nsopenssl) is open source freeware that uses the open source OpenSSL toolkit.

If you opt to use nsopenssl, you should download the source code from Scott Goodwin's web site and read his notes on installation and configuration. I've successfully compiled both nsopenssl 1.1c and nsopenssl 2.0 (you don't need both). Note that you will need AOLserver source code.

You can find instructions on creating a self-signed certificate in Pascal Scheffer's nsopenssl HOWTO.

Thanks for your answer.
"Note that you will need AOLserver source code."
I guess it's my problem that I don't have source code since I installed using the RPMs.
Well, it's not really a "problem" per se.