Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: Will Dr. OpenACS survive? Or why I stopped worrying and learned to love the .LRN consortium?

I am a web developer who has experience with PHP, PostgreSQL, and Apache. I have been reading the OpenACS forums for the last year and a half.  Below is my assessment of the good and bad of OpenACS.

Bad:

1. OpenACS is hard to install.  I tried to install openacs about 10 times and have been successful only 2 or 3 times.  Not only does openacs use non-mainstream technology, but it's hard to install. This is analogous to even when you are able to get a customer in the store (rare), you can't make the sale.

I tried installing everything from source and even tried installing the debian dotLRN package.  Installing from source has so many steps- it's too complicated.  One thing wrong and openacs doesn't work.  With the debian dotlrn package, eventually I got to a point where I needed SSL to work with AOLserver.  I tried to generate a certificate.  I couldn't get it to work.

2.  OpenACS is dependent on AOLserver.  Why can't openacs use another web server like apache?  I don't understand the openacs\aolserver dependency, but I guess it's the ability of aolserver to cache tcl scripts.  Why can't openacs use a memory cache that's not tied to a web server (e.g. memcached.)

3.  TCL is not a popular language anymore.  It's not worth it for me to learn tcl, just to develop for aolserver.  So even if openacs was easy to install and worked with apache, I still wouldn't develop for openacs.  I would install openacs and use it, but I  wouldn't develop for it.

Good

1.  The database schema is very clean and solves important web application problems in a generic way - base objects, users, permissions, and tree queries.  I have looked at the PostgreSQL sql files extensively.  I like the consistency of how the tables, columns, indexes, and stored procedures are named.  I recommend to anyone who wants to learn plpgsql to look at the openacs source code.