Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: Will Dr. OpenACS survive? Or why I stopped worrying and learned to love the .LRN consortium?

OpenACS

I am not a doctor yet 😊 but i have some thought about OpenACS i want to share with all of you that have been taking this great conversation in this forum keeping the flames public available. We can learn with this kind of discussion too if we could deal with it in a positive manner.

Why I came to OpenACS and why I love it and why I want this community survive? It is just because i perceive the value of this community-driven software development as a template for education. Not just for my personal education but also for other who want to involve with opensource.

As a template for education OpenACS survival is almost entirely dependent on the participation of the community that supports their efforts, regardless of their specific association with the project. Other reasons like we don't do Q&A, market analysis, or use focus groups seems to me less important for OpenACS survival than create group processes into this community to Build Good Software and Education

Rob Reynolds wrote once a interesting article for Xplana Learning where he suggested there are the elements that go into the making of good software and education. They are here:

* Abundant dialog -- the conversations occur and proliferate at every level, not just top-down. There are active, grass roots discussions that are just as important as the formal conversations taking place;

* Quality listening -- since information sharing and product evolution are the goals, listening is the most important element in every stage. Every detail can be important and people stop talking hen they do not feel they have been heard;

* True positive feedback -- positive feedback in the sense of a positive feedback loop -- information that actually causes a change in or modification to the system;