Forum OpenACS Development: Response to Software Development (Bugs, QA, etc) and OACS

General Introduction

I think a strong issue tracking system is an important part of the toolkit and a vital part of software engineering. If I don't use a system, issues get forgotten until they cause embarrassment.

Since Lars is going to spend some time on this, I'll spend a minute describing what I like in issue tracking systems based on my experience running multiple projects with multiple clients at Civilution.

The openACS3.2 ticket tracker is pretty good and what I have been using for about 2 years. We made some major modifications to support logging of hours to tickets. If you want to look at how I use it, feel free to email me and I'll let you see some pieces of our system. Its far from ideal though, I haven't been able to do releases well and email notifications are sketchy at best.

I have also spent some time looking at the Fog Creek FogBUGZ tracker, and some other proprietary ticket trackers. As a reference implentation I have very few complaints with FogBUGZ.
http://www.fogcreek.com/FogBUGZ

I find that the workflow for features and defects is similar enough that we have been able to track both very successfully in a ticket tracker. There are some subtle distinctions between them, and its helpful to be able to filter for one or the other. But the general flow is the same.

So onto specific requests:

Major Datamodel Elements

Projects

You should be able to separate tickets and people into distinct projects. At Civilution, we had two projects for each client (one to track billable tickets and one for unbillable tickets, though I wouldn't do that again) and an assortment of internal projects like: Biz Dev, Overhead Tasks, Sysadmin, Codebase.

Its nice if projects have some kind of subdivision like area that you could use to partition a project into documentation, graphic design, and other major ares.