Forum OpenACS Development: Response to How about an OpenACS wiki?

Collapse
Posted by Ben Koot on
I think the solution to this issue is much simpeler. I also read the thread. I am not a programmer, but am dying to learn what OpenACS can give me to create a usefull internet environment. I spend the better part of 18 months to become familiar with ACS, am convinced it is superior to Zope, Wiki, and whatever alternatives.

My advise would be keep it simple, do not use zope or wiki to create an acs environmet/userguide to ACS. This will only confuse users. I don't want to discredit the other systems, from an outsiders' point of vieuw I would say,... If the Openacs infrastructure can not even be used to create a userguide, why go for OpenACS? Who will read a users guide that requires users to become famliar with wikki or zope? seems like a chicken and egg question.

I feel there is an alternative to this issue. This has little to do with technology, but more with community buidling, based on the technology we have avialable. To be more specific, it's about people. We need a /directory of people based on expertise re :
- Modules
- Available time for paid consultation
- Available for free advise on simple questions, accesible via /chat or /tickettracker for a quick q&A session for problems that are a nightmare for newbies, and a piece of cake for hackers. (you couldset a time limit on the consultation)
- Daily editor of q & A on bboard, to cut trhough the clutter and eliminate duplicate answers. If you edit the topics on a regualar basis and weed out irrelevant speech, but stick to facts, you end up with a very readable userguide. Right now, a search in the forum database results in far to much detailed information for it to be usefull/understandable for end users / non hackers.
- Basic questions should be cut back to the Q&A module. That is what end users expect!.
Synchronise this with /glossary for those that prefer to be able to to do an A-Z inventarisation.