Forum OpenACS Q&A: Hosting - yet again.

Collapse
Posted by Mostly Anonymous on
I'm filing this under evangelism, since 'venting' isn't a category.
Apologies for the anonymous posting, but I need to vent for a minute.

A community I recently joined to has decided that it is time to
update their current website (very true).  To my dismay, the decision
has been made to build another static site.

This is a community that (at least in my mind) could really benefit
from OACS.  News needs to be posted, contact information needs to be
available, individual groups need intra-netty features, etc.  And the
ability to DISCUSS and INTERACT should appeal to this community.  But
these features are judged by at least some members of the committee
to be too much work for a volunteer group.

And since I'm a hobbyist (with multiple oACS sites) in a group with
professionals, my opinion that launching a dynamic site is not
actually difficult isn't going to get a bunch of play.

There might be some hope of a "Let's build this as mostly static
site, but we can have forums and news" approach.  And as the dynamic
features were appreciated, more could be added.  Except for one
problem.  [Drumroll please]  Hosting.

There are tons of hosting choices for static sites or sites with
PHP/MySQL, including hosts allowing up to 10GB transfer/month for $18-
25.  The service is probably dubious, and I'm sure you're sharing
with tons of other sites, but is sure sounds good on paper.  (Of
course if all the sites actually USE 10GB/month, the host is going
out of business in a hurry.)

And then there's openACS.  To paraphrase a community member
(apologies - I forget who): There's the $3 option (self hosting via
DSL) and the $300 option, and not much in between.

I don't want to bash on hub.org or the sites that do hosting for
small oACS sites.  A small, low-traffic site could spend $30/month or
so, which I think is very reasonable.  The problem is that if I try