Forum OpenACS Development: how to make your var present with upvar conflict

Hi,

I just recently made weird proc which I needed. list_of_lists _to_multirow

Since this proc emulates db_multirow things work fine except for < if @foo@ not nil > does not work but < if @foo:rowcount@ not nil > works. Since they are different vars in in reality (i think I am not an expert tcler) so naturally "if" does not see foo. But how can I make the var present without colliding with the upvar on my proc. How does db_multirow do it?

Collapse
Posted by Jun Yamog on
Hmmmm I must be tired and sleepy but I knew db_multirow sets foo to be able to test at "if not nil".  Now it does not work.  So I guess db_multirow and list_of_lists_to_multirow works alike...

Oh brother I must be too tired.

Actually, a proc already exists which converts a list of lists to a multirow data source. The name of the proc is somewhat misleading, as it is called template::util::list_to_multirow.

As far as I can tell, multirow datasources don't set anything that can be used for the not nil test. I've always used <if @foo.rowcount@ gt 0> to test for not nil, so I've never noticed the problem of not nil failing to work. It's not quite the same thing, but if you do a db_multirow query that returns no rows, it will still set the rowcount to 0.

Collapse
Posted by Jun Yamog on
Hi Dan,

It seems that list_to_multirow does not cut it for me.  Or maybe I am not using it properly.  Can you check my list_of_lists_to_multirow code?  Basically I am able to use @foo.column@ on .adp while list_to_multirow does not.

Please tell me if what I created is redundant.  Thanks.