Forum OpenACS Q&A: Throttling bandwidth per site...

Hello, I am new to openacs development, but finally after 3 jobs on MS with SQL Server and Access backends I get to try it out. What I was wondering is how to throttle bandwidth usage per site. We have an Enhanced ADSL line, with dedicated 384k upload speeds (and 1.5 – 6 mbps download)… by my estimates this should easily be enough for our site because we won’t be presenting multimedia content. The problem is I will be running two websites, one email server (with about 35 active users), as well as internet browsing functionality on this connection.

What is the best way for me to dedicated a certain amount of upload speed to each service. Ideally I would like 128k upload dedicated to internet browsing and email hosting, and 256k split between the two websites. Money is a very significant factor here because we are non- profit – hence using this hosting solution instead of co-location… so nothing over $1000 would be acceptable. I ideally would like to use standalone cabele/dsl routers for this solution… I would like my boss to be able to deal with problems when I am not here, and running a Linux box as a router is beyond her abilities… thus I would like the webserver to be independent of the network functioning.

Can it be throttled on the web server? Should it be throttled on something like a cisco manage switch?

Collapse
Posted by Don Baccus on
There's no throttling in the webserver, and there's really no way for a web server to do that, AFAIK. I don't think the POSIX standard for sockets includes that functionality (if I'm wrong, someone will correct me I'm sure).

There's an alternative solution you might consider - $25/month OpenACS hosting offered by one of our community members.