Forum .LRN Q&A: External messages in Forums

Collapse
Posted by Mario Gomide on
Hi list!

I'm a little new with TCL and the OpenACS/.LRN structure, so I hope you people can help me out.

I have another system and I want to integrate it with .LRN somehow with the forums tool.

I use: dotLRN 2.1.3 and my Forums Applet is 1.1.2d6 (Forums Portlet 2.1.2)

So, what I finally want to do is described bellow:
My other system will generate some information that must be posted as a reply-message (or an edit-message) in the forum.

So, is there any way to create e new, reply or edit an existing message (post) automatically filling it with an external content (maybe via URL)?

Any idea is important!
Thanks a lot!

Mario Gomide

Collapse
Posted by Carl Robert Blesius on
Do a search for ns_httpget and see "Exercise 4: Tcl pages that query foreign servers" here:

http://ocw.mit.edu/OcwWeb/Electrical-Engineering-and-Computer-Science/6-171Fall2003/Assignments/detail/problem_set_1.htm

might be outdated, but it might give you some ideas.

Collapse
Posted by Malte Sussdorff on
Dear Mario, there is a fairly easy way to do it, it requires an upgrade though.

If you have the package acs-mail-lite from HEAD (version 5.4.0d1) you can use the callback for incoming_object_emails to write a quick callback for Forums, which will add a reply to the forum posting.

Then you have your external system send an e-mail to "$mailto:forum_message_id@yourserver.com"; where forum_message_id is the ID of the message you want to reply to.

As you are a little bit new to OpenACS, maybe it would be wiser though to wait for me to spend two hours to quickly writ e the callback for incoming forums. Should be done in two or three weeks.

Collapse
Posted by Mario Gomide on
Hello Malte!!

Good hearing from you! I really, really appreciate your help and I am very glad you proposed to write this callback.