Forum OpenACS Q&A: Re: OpenACS Wiki

Collapse
6: Re: OpenACS Wiki (response to 1)
Posted by Jeroen van Dongen on
I'm fairly new to OACS, and I was actually looking for an OACS wiki implementation. Not having found one, I was about to start one myself - both to actually get one and as a nice 'problem set' for getting the hang of OACS (a wiki is essentially a pretty simple thing - it's the OACS bit that takes it to an 'interesting' level of difficulty for me).

To remark on one of the other posts in this thread with respect to using the CR - I was thinking of this, but had indeed questions with respect to whether or not the CR is capable/meant to handle dozens of 'micro-versions' - which is indeed typical for a wiki. As CR seems to store each revision just as a full copy (correct ?) this would seem inefficient to me.

It's still a little unclear to me how you're supposed to get the actual content-body out of the CR once it is put in there - but perhaps it is possible to make a Wiki-contenttype that uses just two revisions in the CR for each topic:
- one that contains the 'live revision'
- one that contains an RCS version of the same thing (to put it simply: the *,v file)

When adding a new version, the ',v file'-version updated and  _replaced_ (not added). Then the new version is 'checked out' into the live revision.

That way you can have both 'micro revisions' without getting excessive amounts of revisions in the CR and as long as you define an API for dealing with Wiki-types (which you have to do anyway AFACT) it should not be a problem for others.

Only problem I see is that there is no such thing as an RCS-library around - there're just the command line tools, which will only work on files.

Anyway - I'd love to see some existing code - can someone point me to it?

Rgds,
Jeroen van Dongen

Collapse
9: Re: OpenACS Wiki (response to 6)
Posted by Jade Rubick on
Jeroen,