Forum OpenACS Q&A: Installation Guide

Collapse
Posted by David Bell on
Hi everyone,
      I recently installed OpenAcs 4.6 by following the installation guides on the website. However when i came round to testing i got the following error

Request Error
Server startup failed: Error during bootstrapping

command "ns_db" is not enabled
    while executing
"ns_db pools"
    (procedure "db_bootstrap_set_db_type" line 72)
    invoked from within
"db_bootstrap_set_db_type database_problem"

I discovered this was due to the fact that the postgres.so
driver was mising form the aolserver/bin directory. I then downloaded the driver source, built and installed it and all was fixed. A friend of mine had the same problem when he followed the installation guide so i decided to write this post. I guess my questions are

1. Is there something I did wrong to get this problem
2. Is there a better way to solve this problem
3. Should this be documented in the installation guide

I am new to OpenACS so this might all sound really naive and sorry if it does.

Thanks in advance

David Bell

Collapse
2: Re: Installation Guide (response to 1)
Posted by Joel Aufrecht on
This sounds like an out-of-sync problem, where you read one set of instructions and used a slightly different version of OpenACS or the supporting software.  So we should try to track that down and see if we can add hints.  Where did you go to get documentation (ie, from the web site, from the tarball)?  Exactly which url or version, if you can remember, did you use?
Collapse
3: Re: Installation Guide (response to 1)
Posted by David Bell on
I got the documentation from the website at https://openacs.org/doc/openacs-4-6-2/unix-install.html, and i used the openacs-4-6.tgz tar ball downloaded from https://openacs.org/projects/openacs/download/download-verify?revision_id=69738
and aol server from
http://uptime.openacs.org/aolserver-openacs/aolserver3.3oacs1.tar.gz

Hope that helps

David

Collapse