Forum OpenACS Q&A: Knowledge Management System

Collapse
Posted by John Cusack on
How can i use OpenACS framework to develop an Ontology-based Knowledge Management System?
Collapse
Posted by Jeff Davis on
Via installing OpenACS and then customizing it :)

Seriously, that's a pretty broad question and I think the answer could fill multiple books. Maybe you should give some more specific examples of what you are trying to do and we might be able to tell you what parts of OpenACS would be useful and what you might need to change.

I am working on some KM related stuff currently which might be useful but it is a ways from being delivered.

Collapse
Posted by John Cusack on
:),Thanks for the previous answer, for your information, i'm a student working on a KM project with just a brief idea.Basically, we would want to have a knowledge repository to store documents, procedures etc. for future reference. Then, there should be a retrieval engine right?The project team has decided to use ontology to represent the knowledge structure. So, i would to know more about developing a retrieval engine that use ontology as a knowledge structure, on what it will needs, how will it be and related concepts in order to implement it using openACS. :) .Looking forward for any assistant.
Collapse
Posted by Frank Bergmann on
Hi Mohd,

we have got a KM research group working at the La Salle university in Barcelona, Spain with a total of 4 final thesis students. We are working currently for two customers, a small strategic consulting company and the HP Professional Printers division.

For the consulting company we basicly develop a new filestorage module with template documents for each project phase.