Forum OpenACS Q&A: 1 week boot camp questions...

Collapse
Posted by Scott Mc Williams on
Hi all, I see that the 1 week boot camp is coming to my neck of the
woods. I'd love to go, and probably have the time. But I want to know
if it's going to be completely Greek to me. As you may (or may not)
know my background is in design. But, I've always had a technical
side that I've been stoking the past couple of years. I learn things
very fast (especially with practical applications). I've worked on a
number of large OpenACS sites (Edulix, Royal and the upcoming SV2s,
Pinx and Mo Bio sites) and I have a pretty good idea of how ACS
works. I'd like to be able to get under the hood more than I
currently can (so I can stop bugging James Shannon too).

I'd also like to extend my skillset to a point where I am even more
employable. I don't have a degree (I've been too busy running my own
company for the past 6+ years) but now I'm in the market again. I'd
even love a chance to work for aD if possible, I think I have a LOT
to offer. But I know that unless I have a stronger technical
background that's not going to happen easily (and even then it won't
be easy).
  So, I'd like to hear from some other bootcampers. Was it too
intense? Not intense enough? Was it a good experience? My knowledge
of SQL doesn't extend much beyond Create, Alter, Select and a few
other commands...will I be dead in the water? I promise to read
everything ahead of time!

Thanks for your input. Remember...if I can actually learn what I'm
doing, there'll be another body available for porting!

Scott

Collapse
Posted by carl garland on
I attended a portion of a bootcamp last year and the AD team is great
and worth visiting just for the company and pleasure to sit in their
chairs.  I was hoping to gain a deeper understanding of the ACS toolkit during the bootcamp by talks / demos of different parts of the