Forum .LRN Q&A: Re: Using web logs for learning

Collapse
Posted by Bruce Spear on
Interesting question!  I've little experience using logs, so I'm curious to know what their learning qualities might be.  For classroom work I've been concentrating on the use of forums as with forums you can set students into debate with each other, put them to work on a common project, or ask them to explore together.  In this way, you get the benefit of their wanting to work together, present for each other, discuss with each other, etc.  I guess I'm confessing to a gap in my understanding, or maybe a mere preference: I think of blogs as a single, short, opinionated voice which, in the context of the classroom, leaves little room for debate: everyone has a right to their own opinion and, following Bartleby, need not need the opinions of others.  Debating or problem-solving contexts, in contrast, invite the play of cooperation and critical scrutiny.  Maybe I've a not-so-secret aversion to poetry and am wedded to work teams?  Nope, it's just that when I write poetry (in my case, photograph), I go off and do it alone and have no need of the web until I've got something to present, and then, it is a presentation for others.  So, Bill, what kinds of learning activities do you have in mind for blogs?  I'm all ears! -- B
Collapse
Posted by Bill Ives on