Forum OpenACS Development: News aggregator: Purging brainstorming

Collapse
Posted by Guan Yang on

Currently the news aggregator (NA) package (which I'm working on in HEAD) is a bit of a mess, but I'm working to clean it up. I would like some feedback from the community on one important aspect of current NA design, purging.

Current Design

The current purging mechanism is inspired by Radio UserLand and Python Desktop Server (PyDS). All items are displayed on one page in blog format. (NA expands on this by allowing the user to have multiple aggregators, though the current template doesn't display the additional aggregators. I have an old master template around that does this, but I will integrate it into the package aggregator soon.) When you're done reading all the items on the page, simply click the button Purge this page of news, and the items are no longer visible.

There is a separate table for saved items, na_saved_items. Here is a copy of the central NA query along with its execution plan. When the user has 5 purges for a given aggregator, those 5 purges are deleted and the aggregator_bottom field is updated. No items are displayed (by default) that have an item_id value below the user's aggregator_bottom.

Problems

This design was thought to be scalable, has some problems (including scalability!). Imagine that Alice uses NA a lot and has a lot of purges. The last time Alice used NA and purged her aggregator was 9:00, so all items that were scanned before 9:00 are not visible.

Now Alice creates a new subscription for New York Times. Lots of other users are subscribed to New York Times's RSS feed, so there's no new scan of that feed. All the items in the NYT were scanned before 9:00. As a result, it appears to Alice that nothing has happened — no items appear unless Alice clicks the "Purge Off" link.

Solutions