Forum OpenACS Q&A: Project Manager: Subsite Aware ?

Collapse
Posted by Malte Sussdorff on
I was wondering how I can achive the following with Project Manager (as it does not seem to be subsite aware).

I have a subsite for each of my clients. Obviously, the clients should only have access to their respective client projects.

How do I do this? Is it possible to just have one PM instance with all the clients projects but assign certain projects only to certain clients (and they will only see the projects they are assigned to in the overview) ?

How do others deal with this?

Collapse
Posted by Nagita Karunaratne on
I was working on this but stopped a few weeks ago.

I'm no expert but it seems that the project-manager is based on the content-repository. I could not find any 'package_id' parameter in any of the pm_* tables.

One possible way may be to subtype the cr_items table with a 'pm_item' object_type and have a 'package_id' item parameter much like cr_folders.

This would allow multiple packages and each project to map to a particular package. Also a package may have multiple projects.

Collapse
Posted by Dave Bauer on
A better solution is to create a table mapping package_id to a cr_folder and to give each project manager instance a cr_folder for its projects similar to how file-storage works.
Collapse
Posted by Nagita Karunaratne on
Would you add a new file-storage package (to each subsite) with a root folder and give all the projects in that subsite a folder under this root folder

or

would you create an a file storage package in the main instance with a folder for all projects and give all subsite project manager packages each a root folder under this root folder and under each of these folders give them folder for each project.?

I guess thats a little confusing.

Collapse
Posted by Richard Hamilton on
Malte,

I am planning to do some work in the coming weeks to address a similar requirement. What I plan to do though is this: