take you to install and configure aolserver, postgresql,
openacs, and get the bboard module running ? Since this
is dependent on the skill and knowledge of the person doing
it, together with your answer, please describe briefly your
background, ie "I am a software engineer with x years of db/web
programming experience". Or maybe could you give an estimate of the
time it would take for someone familiar with the concepts (read
Philip Greenspun's book) and programming, but not specifically
db/web ? I am trying to get an idea of the effort involved. Thanks.
My estimate: one day for web/db programmers. Maybe a long weekend weekend for a programmer with a UNIX background. This is assuming that you've actually read the various installation guides and manuals, you're a conscientious, detail-oriented person, and you're not trying to do this at 3 a.m. when you're dead tired.

My background: I am an erstwhile technical marketing guy; I was briefly a web/db programmer. My educational background is liberal arts. I've been on UNIX/Linux boxes for about eight years. I've been involved with the ACS/OpenACS for about three years. I'm not really a programmer; I used to be an okay sysadmin many moons ago.

From what I've seen in both the ArsDigita bboards and this OpenACS one, people with limited UNIX experience will need to allocate more time to learn some of the *nix nuts and bolts. There are some "Learn Linux in 21 Days", but that will take you, uh, 21 days, I suppose.