Forum OpenACS Q&A: Problems with Search installation (postgres + tsearch2)

Hi,

I am new to OpenACS. What attracts me most is the site wide search functionality that is promised to work out of the box - now this is the package where I have the most problems with during installation.

OpenACS is running for me on a debian sarge box, using the prebuilt packages that are available via apt-get (this is postgresql 7.4.7 + postgresql-contrib and aolserver 4.0.10). For installation of full text search with tsearch2, I followed the instructions on
http://www.openacs.com/doc/openacs-5-2/install-full-text-search-tsearch2.html - using the described sql update script from http://www.sai.msu.su/~megera/postgres/gist/tsearch/V2/regprocedure_update.sql instead of the patch (I didn't want to recompile anything). Tsearch2 seems to be installed correctly - at least I can find tsearch2.so in /usr/lib/postgresql/lib.

When I install the Search application from the admin interface of my site and want to have a look at it, it tells me:

"Search is not currently configured. Please contact the webmaster to enable it."

The log says:
"Warning: ACS-SC: Function Not Found: AcsSc.ftsenginedriver.info.tsearch2_driver"

OK, there is a section in the installation guide on
http://www.openacs.com/doc/openacs-5-2/install-full-text-search-tsearch2.html
called "Install Full Text Search Engine Package in OpenACS", and I tried to follow exactly the steps described there, but I came only to step 2... step 3 says "Click 'Install new service'" - but there is no 'install new service' link anywhere on this page and thus I can not find the page telling me anything about "Tsearch2 Driver".

What is going wrong here? I am stuck but I definitely need site wide search...
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Eckhard

You have to install the apm package "tsearch2-driver" and to mount /search manually from the site map. for some reasons it is not mounted automatically.

-gustaf