Forum OpenACS Development: Legacy OpenACS under Oracle 12c

Collapse
Posted by Michael Aram on
Dear community,

one of our customers who is currently running an OpenACS 5.4 under Oracle 10g plans an upgrade of the database server to Oracle 12c. (The DB Server is managed by their IT department.)

However, as they are more or less reluctant to pay for a "real" application layer (OpenACS) upgrade as well, they want to give the "export dump - import dump" approach a try.

I would expect that either this will not work at all or that it will seemingly work, but the application is then "stuck" in the sense that future upgrades are hardly possible because the upgrade scripts were written for an older OpenACS version.

I have to admit that I have no OACS-Oracle experience at all, so this assumption comes from my lessons learned from PostgreSQL upgrades.

Any comments are welcome!

PS: The compatibility matrix does not mention 12c at all, and there is a "maybe" for 11g, but I am optimistic because of https://openacs.org/forums/message-view?message_id=5348348

Collapse
Posted by Andrew Piskorski on
At work, we recently upgraded from Oracle 10g to 12c, while (so far) still using a very old version of OpenACS. It's working fine. We did a physical Oracle upgrade using RMAN backups, not export/import, although I expect export would work ok. Oracle has been quite backwards compatible, so any OpenACS upgrade scripts written for 8i will probably still run fine on 12c, but I haven't tried that. We had one (questionably written) query that worked on 10g but failed on 12c (a fairly easy fix), and a few ugly queries that got incredibly slow, presumably from some change between the 10g and 12c query planners. No showstoppers.

So I think your customer's plan will probably work fine, as long as they have the right programmers available to fix the occasional bug.