Forum OpenACS Q&A: How do I know, if someone is Admin?

Collapse
Posted by Tim Adler on
The standard-Links that are normally diplayed on the OpenACS mainpage somehow irritate our users. How can I tell if someone is site-wide admin after login? I found a variable admin_p that is used in some other pages, but that doesn't work on that main page.
Collapse
Posted by Richard Hamilton on
I asked this question a couple of days ago - here is the answer.

Regards
Richard
Collapse
Posted by Tim Adler on
Great, that did it. It is working! But I don't quite understand what the code does, or what part is doing which task? Can you perhaps explain the code a little bit?
ad_page_contract {
} {
} -properties {
   admin_p:onevalue
}

set package_id [ad_conn package_id]
set admin_p [ad_permission_p $package_id admin]
Collapse
OK, well I am quite new to this as well so someone else may correct my mistakes, but I'll have a go....

ad_page_contract is a function that is called at the top of every *.tcl page to provide services such as automatic documentation (extracts comments from the code), variable declarations, data input filtering and validation and other bits and bobs that I have yet to familiarise myself with. It seems to be a general purpose gateway for tcl code and provides a standard means of integrating tcl page scripts with the acs api.

The first lines are a call to ad_page_contract (will already be in the page you are editing) and the -properties tag in this example declares the variable admin_p (_p for predicate - naming convention only i.e. boolean true/false) as data type onevalue (multiple value datatypes are available in the templating system). This has the effect of making the variable available to the *.adp page that is called at the end of the *.tcl page.

The

set package_id[ad_conn package_id]
retrieves the current package instance's id number and stores it in the variable package_id.

The

set admin_p[ad_permission_p $package_id admin]