Forum OpenACS Q&A: General Comments on adp pages

Collapse
Posted by tammy m on
Hi

I'm new to OpenACS and just got up and running with 4.6.

I want to add General Comments links and comments to my pages but I have moved all my static html pages to adp pages to take advantage of the templating system.

What is the best way to go about adding comments + links from General Comments to my pages? Do I have to revert to html pages? If so, can I use some form of master templates to wrap html pages at least?

Thanks for any insight.

Collapse
Posted by Ola Hansson on
tammy,

Install and mount static-pages and general-comments and put your original (html) pages in some dir(s) you create (mkdir) under the page root (www) dir. Then restart the server. Now, scan your pages from the static-pages admin pages and possibly change some params for that package in the sitemap.

Voila! You should be able to comment on your pages.

/Ola

Collapse
Posted by Ola Hansson on
You can toggle on/off if you want to use templating or not via one of static-pages' parameters. If you activate templating you should look at www/default-master.* and maybe also /packages/static-pages/www/templates/static.adp.

HTH.

Collapse
Posted by tammy m on
Thanks Ola.

Can I add comments/links to my adp pages too? Or do my pages have to be static html to be able to use comments/links?

I noticed this posting that James Thornton had come up with a way to add comments/links to adp pages. But this posting is older and I am wondering if there is a general consensus on the "best" way to do this now. Or even if this functionality is more built in to OACS today.

Thanks again.

Collapse
Posted by Joel Aufrecht on
Here's what I stole from some other package - I offer it up as a straw man for the "right way" to do comments for things that aren't static pages.