Forum .LRN Q&A: Question about dotlrn database management

I'm studying how dotlrn works for a possible installation by my university. One of the things i noticed is that we can't completely remove users from the database, and the same thing for courses and classes. I think that this make the database more dificult. Every year hundreds of new students come to the university and hundreds finish the courses and leave, courses and classes are shutdown permanently. This way, i think, the database size only grows and grows whit the time. My question is, i'm seeing things wrong? If not, is there any strategy or solution to get ride off this useless data (controling the size of the database) from the database and make the management of the database more easy?
Thanks for any help :)
Collapse
Posted by Tilmann Singer on
There have been discussions about this before here on these forums, with the consensus that it does not make sense to delete old stuff, given the complexity of relations between the various database objects.

When you try to compute how much storage a user or a class actually consumes on the hard disk you'll propably find out that it is irrelevant.

Collapse
Posted by Janine Ohmer on
Also, the upside to this behavior is that you can convert your graduating students to alumni in the system, and offer services that keep them coming back to the site.  If done right,  your alumni office (the one that tries to get donations to the school) will love you for this! :)
Collapse
Posted by Alfred Essa on