Forum OpenACS Q&A: my 2 cents -(from another newbie)

Collapse
Posted by Yves Goldberg on
Checking my first post I saw it is dated Oct 2001. I have to say I'm not a developer but for a reason or another I was attracted by oacs. I have a postnuke website and if I had the opportunity I would have switched it to oacs few years ago. I've installed HEAD version from CVS under vmware.

I writing this post with the intention it will contribute to the oacs community.

1) For the years I know oacs it was never usable by a non programmer.

oacs seems to target only large organization that can afford hiring very skilled programmer and with large budget.

Is this the goal? If you take postnuke (example) a non programmer can install and make it work quite easily. Then some (a lot) of people are hacking the code to no end. some concentrate on templating; other on expanding capabilities etc.

Wouldn't it be possible (and a priority) to design such a basic installation with basic functionalities? This would permit people like me to start USING oacs and then -with the time- learn how to hack some of it.

2) For about 2 years I'm asking myself how I could learn oacs and still haven't a clue to tell the truth. I have the feeling I should stop my work and go back to university for few years to be able to learn it. As a newbie it is quite intimidating to bother professional  programmers with trivial question like how to manually feed sql to the database ...

wouldn't it be possible to create forum only for newbies so they will "dare" to participate and learn.
and if the answer to my point 1) is that the community has an interest attracting "end-user" then maybe a "end-user" forum will help this purpose too.

I hope this post bring something and await to read your reaction.

Thanks.

Yves.

Collapse
Posted by Malte Sussdorff on
Let me give you my €0.02 as an answer: