Forum OpenACS Q&A: ns_sendmail failed: Expected a 250 status line; got:

I've not been able to find anything like this error message in the threads to date.  The notification feature in the .lrn v1 forums I've set up are not forwarding mail, and I'm getting the following error.  Might someone suggest a troubleshooting path for me to follow?  Thanks!  Bruce

Error: ns_sendmail failed: Expected a 250 status line; got:
501 <notification-test1 mailto:SubGroupTestOnly@mail.zedat.fu-berlin.de>>: "@" or "." expected after "notification-test1"^M

Collapse
Posted by Janine Ohmer on
I think it's the space between test1 and Sub -  you can't have any spaces in e-mail addresses.
Collapse
Posted by Bruce Spear on
Dear Janine: Thanks for the quick reply!  I'm sorry to have to say that, as I am a beginner, I would need to have a better idea of a troubleshooting path to put your comment to use: where do I go to make a fix?  Thanks!  Bruce
Collapse
Posted by Don Baccus on
Someone else ran into this recently but I can't seem to dig it out from the forums using search.  There was a fix posted for it I believe ... hopefully someone will remember.
Did you enter "notification-test1" as parameter setting somewhere? If yes you might want to check if it contains a leading or trailing space, e.g. if it is "notification-test1 ". Check the same for the group name.

If that turns out to be the reason please file a bug because that shouldn't be possible to happen.

Collapse
Posted by Bruce Spear on
Thanks for the tips!

Nope, Tilmann, I haven't added or changed the parameters in the notifications, but what I have done, following a previous error message that said I had two notifications modules installed, was unmount the root notifications package so that I am left with the /dotlrn/notifications package  -- which at that point two weeks ago worked, so I remember anyway.