Forum OpenACS Q&A: Beginner-to-Intermediate Books on Data Modelling

Hey, I'm new to the hi-tech industry and have an economics background
with a little bit of HTML programming experience.  I understand
simple database concepts, but I'm looking for a good book that will
help me get a better understanding of data modelling.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

I think the best way to learn real-world data modeling, once you have the basics down,
is by reading well-regarded data models. To get the basics down (I assume you're new to SQL too), I suggest Joe Celko's "SQL for Smarties 2ed". It's clear, concise, readable, with plenty of DM info. In short, it's the best SQL book I've seen.

Most "DM+SQL" books are just not worth picking up off the shelf...

Since you're here, I'm guessing you already know this one, but just to be sure: SQL for web nerds. Just anything residing in the /books/ directory, really.

Apart from that, I'd like to recommend The Sql Guide to Oracle. It is bit old (February 1992), but I find it to be good for beginners who need to get a hold of SQL programming. It starts from very basics and takes you to pretty high level. Despite the "Oracle" in the title, almost none of it is Oracle-specific.

For more OpenACS4-specific data modelling advice, I'd first read through the (now outdated) docs on datamodels and the object system, fire up your favorite editor, read some datamodels from OpenACS 4 and try to make the connection. The need for documention on OpenACS 4 is bad.

Oh, and look at the bookshelf, too. Are the any other people out there maintaining bookshelves on OpenACS/ACS matters?

From your bio description, I'd place you in the 'beginner' category, more than the 'intermediate'. Just for reference.