I am a student of University Sydney and currently given a thesis
project.

I am using the ETP package and have to implement functionality to
import/export XML. My project is to develop a e-Learning application
to deliver courses online.

Here's a brief explanation:

1. IMPORT XML : The User comes and writes the chapters of a book
using ETP and wants to save it as XML DTD Docbook. This is a function
to upload the content to the web page as a XML Docbook.

2. EXPORT XML : This is a function to download the Docbook in order
to put that in another page if needed.This is quite complicated and
hard to implement.

Please suggest ways to implement the above two cases. Any
ideas/similar implementations would really help me get started.

This sounded quite similar to export/import glossary and that's the
reason I posted this thread. Please keep updated of future threads.

Thanks!

Collapse
Posted by Jun Yamog on
Hi Sandhya,
<p>
I think ETP may not cut it.  If you are thinking of having a web interface to make a XML Docbook.  Although it may, but some heavy customization must be done.  But I do suggest you look at Content Repository and its api.  You may have to roll you own CMS app on top of CR.
<p>
As for the export once you have your data in the CR that is similar to Docbook.  Its only a matter of making a 2 templates one for putting out a web page and another for putting out a Docbook XML that can be downloaded.
<p>
If I will approach the problem I will probably do it this way:
<ul>
<li>Study the DTD of Docbook.  And see how to make a Content Type in the CR.  You may need to create several Content Types and linking them with one another by using the cr_items.parent_id.
<li>Create some forms to put in the data into your content types.
<li>Create an upload facility and parser to import an existing Docbook document into the CR's content types.