Forum OpenACS Q&A: Globalization and package instances and communities

As most of you probably know, we're about to internationalize OpenACS and .LRN. So we're starting to think things through in more detail, and there are several things that we're not certain of. I'm going to post a couple of those there.

The background information is the the specs that were used at our mini-conference in Amsterdam in June, at http://openacs.org /wp/display/326/409.wimpy.

The problem is: Say you're a university in Germany. Most of your courses are in German, but some are in English or Spanish or some other language, either to accomodate visitors, or because it's a language course. For those course, you want the online .LRN community to be in English or Spanish as well. Or in Thai.

Say I'm a Swedish exchange student at this school, and I've set my browser or a cookie saying that my preferred language is Swedish, something that .LRN happens to support.

Will I get navigation in Swedish and content in German, English, Spanish, or Thai, depending on the course (i.e. my user preference always takes precedence over the community setting)?

Or will I get both navigation and content in German, English, Spanish, Thai (i.e. the community setting always takes precedence over my settings, meaning my user setting is useless)?

Will I have the option of choosing Swedish in one community, English in another, and Spanish in a third (i.e. there's a separate user preference per package instance or community or whateve)?

Isn't it going to be confusing to have the navigation keeep changing languages? Isn't it going to be confusing for people to keep track of their locale preferences in each of several subcommunities? (Btw, I've used language and locale interchangeably in this post.)