Forum OpenACS Development: Idea: New Content Paradigm

Collapse
Posted by Simon Carstensen on
Disclaimers: I have little knowledge of the current CMS. And "paradigm" is perhaps a bit over the top :)

I was talking about Content Management in general terms with a  friend the other day, which started off a series of thoughts. So here are my thoughts, although I'm sure the current CMS already incorporates some of them.

There are of course many ways of categorizing and presenting content depending on what framework it is presented within (i.e. article, Q&A, news). Content might be categorized in sections, by subject, or by category.

An alternative, and perhaps more flexible and useful, way of presenting content might be using keywords. The text is just text and the structure is created through the use of keywords connected to the text. That's pretty standard.

There are different keywords, though. There are keywords that describe the content type (news, comment, post, etc.) and there are keywords that constitute subject (OpenACS, photography, beer).

Connecting these two types of keywords, we get different "views". To create a page that displays news, ask for content having the "news" keyword attached to it, ordering by date. Want "news about beer", ask for conent having the "news" and "beer" keywords attached to it. This way the user (i.e. the CMS admin) creates the structure.