Forum OpenACS Q&A: Icons: let's do it

Collapse
Posted by Michael Cordova on
I wrote a few months ago about icons in Suggestion: Improve the UI with more images, icons, thumbnails... post. And now, I've got energy enough to retake this issue. I'm not a graphic designer although I've already used very sophisticated image manipulation programs to retouch icons :-P
I'm really interested in improving the UI through icons.

I think we all agree we need to review the current set of icons, and maybe to get a new one. It will be hard to agree what kind of icons, or even harder what style they should be. But my idea is not exactly that, but even more ambitious:

• where they should be located (package(s))
  • naming convention (files and folders)
  • default dimensions, format (gif/png/svg)
  • how to implement (hard-coded, catalog keys, css)
  • when are they supposed to be used?

I'd like to improve OpenACS in general, and then, dotLRN.

We should also remove old versions and old paths to non-existing files. I don't like icons with text like old "admin", "join", "drop" ones in .LRN. I like those that can synthesize a concept. For instance, simple actions as "new", "add", "remove", "admin", "edit"...

I've been looking in OpenACS forums about icons and that's what I've found (and I'd like to know which is the status of):

I have created a folder "icon sets for OpenACS" inside a multipurpose one called "Multimedia" in file storage. I've also added a few links to some icon sets referenced in other posts. Please, feel free to add more links, or screenshots or whatever image format.

I wouldn't like it falls in deaf ears.

Collapse
2: Re: Icons: let's do it (response to 1)
Posted by Robert Taylor on
Hi!

Very exciting. I will updating our mockup design for the new oacs website layout when 5.5 is released so this work is also really great news.

Here are some thoughts: